Red Oak Community School District Meeting of the Board of Directors

Meeting Location: Inman Primary School Media Center Inman Primary Campus May 29, 2018

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Red Oak Community School District was called to order by President Mark Johnson at 8:30 p.m. at the Inman Primary School Media Center.

Present

Directors: Bret Blackman, Roger Carlson, Bryce Johnson, Mark Johnson

Superintendent: Tom Messinger, Business Manager: Deb Drey

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve the agenda with the order of agenda items at the discretion of the meeting chair. Motion carried 4-0.

Good News from Red Oak Schools

None

Consent Agenda

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Carlson to approve the consent agenda. Motion carried 4-0.

District Treasurer

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Blackman to appoint Deb Drey as District Treasurer. Motion carried 4-0.

Construction Alternate Bids

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve High School Alternative #2 Activity Center/Field House with a base bid of \$985,964 plus an increase in steel price of \$5,336 for a total cost of \$991,300. Motion carried 4-0.

Liability/Workers Compensation Insurance Agent of Record

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve United Group as the liability/workers compensation insurance agent of record. Motion carried 4-0.

Board Meeting Location during Construction

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to have Board of Directors Meetings at Inman Primary School at 7:00 p.m. during construction. Motion carried 4-0.

Control Masters Door Access Proposal

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve the Control Masters proposal to move access points to the Tech Center. Motion carried 4-0.

Continuation of May 29, 2018 Meeting Minutes-Page 2

Non-Bargaining Staff Salaries for 2018-2019

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve 2018-2019 salary package of 2.25%, total cost of \$22,760.21 for Gayle Allensworth, Principal; Nate Perrien, Principal; Jeff Spotts, Principal; Deb Drey, Business Manager; Bob Deter, Technology Director; Diana Wesbrook, Transportation Supervisor; Heather Hall, School Nurse; Linda Guerra, Interpreter Para Professional; Monica Blay, Accounting Clerk; Heidi Harris, Accounting Clerk; Tammi VanMeter, Administrative Assistant; Kevin Herrick, Computer Hardware Technician; Karen Dean, Home School Director; Bonnie Viner, Home School Assistant; Chris Vannausdle, Maintenance/Grounds; Adam Wenberg, Lead Maintenance. Motion carried 4-0.

Sharing Contracts with Stanton School District

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve sharing contracts for the 2018-2019 school year with Stanton School District for Agriculture/FFA and Industrial Technology Instructors, Guidance Counselor, Talented and Gifted Instructor, and Vocational Agriculture Instructor/FFA Advisor. Motion carried 4-0.

SWCC Educational Services Contract

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to approve the Southwestern Community College Educational Services agreement for the 2018-2019 school year. Motion carried 4-0.

Personnel Considerations

Motion by Director Blackman, second by Director Bryce Johnson to approve the resignation of Kelen Panec as High School Science Teacher and National Honor Society Sponsor effective at the end of the 2017-2018 school year. Motion carried 4-0.

Motion by Director Carlson, second by Director Blackman to approve the hiring of Taylor Smith and Katelynn VanMeter in the Maintenance Department for 40 hours per week from May 28, 2018 to June 8, 2018. Motion carried 4-0.

Adjournment

Motion by Director Bryce Johnson, second by Director Blackman to adjourn the meeting at 9:10 p.m. Motion carried 4-0.

Next Board of Directors Meeting	Monday, June 11, 2018 – 7:00 p.m.
	Inman Primary School Media Center
	ROCSD Inman Primary School Campus
Mark Johnson, President	Deb Drey, Board Secretary