Red Oak Community School District Meeting of the Board of Directors

Meeting Location: Sue Wagaman Board Room, Red Oak CSD Administrative Center Red Oak Technology Center, Red Oak High School Campus September 28, 2015

This regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Red Oak Community School District was called to order by President Paul Griffen at 6:00 p.m.

Present:

Directors: Kathy Walker, Paul Griffen, Bryce Johnson, Mark Johnson Shirley Maxwell, Board Secretary, Tom Messinger, Superintendent

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Director Walker, second by Director B Johnson to approve the agenda as presented with the order of agenda items at the discretion of the board president. Motion carried unanimously.

Visitors and Presentations

Middle School Principal Nate Perrien and ROMS team members presented their PBIS, Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports program in use at the middle school.

Affirmations and Commendations

The Board recognized former board members Bill Drey, Lee Fellers and Dr. Warren Hayes for their commitment and service to the Red Oak Community School District and presented each with a plaque in appreciation of their dedication.

Consent Agenda

Motion by Director Walker, second by Director M Johnson to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Items comprised in the consent agenda:

- * Approval of minutes from September 14, 2015
- * Approval of monthly business reports

Replacement Process for the Director Seat Created by the Resignation of Dr. Warren Hayes Four candidates were interviewed by the board for the open seat, Bret Blackman, Kevin Britten, Bill Drey, and Gary Pfeiffer.

Appointment of Board Member to Replace Dr. Warren Hayes

Motion by Director M Johnson, second by Director B Johnson to appoint Bret Blackman to fill the vacant seat on the Red Oak School Board. Motion carried unanimously.

The Oath of Office was administered to Bret Blackman by Business Manager Shirley Maxwell.

Board of Directors Committee Assignments and Service for FY 16

Interest Based Bargaining with the Red Oak Educators Association

Kathy Walker and Mark Johnson

Interest Based Bargaining with the Red Oak Support Staff Association

Paul Griffen and Bryce Johnson

Iowa Association of School Boards Delegate Assembly – Voting Member

Paul Griffen

School Improvement Advisory Committee Board Representative

Bret Blackman

Red Oak District Policy Committee

Kathy Walker and Mark Johnson

Red Oak District Facilities Committee

Paul Griffen and Bryce Johnson

Red Oak District Calendar Committee

Bret Blackman

Red Oak Technology Committee

Bryce Johnson and Bret Blackman

Red Oak Curriculum Council

Kathy Walker and Mark Johnson

Montgomery County Conference Board

Paul Griffen

Motion by Director Walker, second by Director B Johnson to approve the Board of Directors committee assignments and service for FY 16. Motion carried unanimously.

Review and Approval of Agreement to Establish a Consortium to Jointly Administer an Instructional Program at Children's Square and Heartland Family Service

Motion by Director Walker, second by Director M Johnson to establish a Consortium to jointly administer an instructional program at Children's Square and Heartland Family Service. Motion carried unanimously.

Personnel Considerations

Motion by Director M Johnson, second by Director Walker to approve the list of substitute bus drivers as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Director Walker, second by Director B Johnson to approve the voluntary transfer of Felisha Wingfield from food service to paraprofessional at Inman Primary School at a rate of \$9.16 per hour and the employment of Kirstin Blake as paraprofessional at Inman Primary School at a rate of \$9.16 per hour. Motion carried unanimously.

9.28.15 Board Minutes Page 3	
Administrative Reports Mr. Messinger gave a report on the efforts relations.	being made and ideas he has for school-community
	ctor Blackman to adjourn the meeting at 8:38 p.m. he next regular meeting will be October 12, 2015 in SD Administrative Center.
Paul Griffen, President	Shirley Maxwell, Board Secretary