Red Oak Community School District Special Meeting of the Board of Directors Meeting Location: Sue Wagaman Board Room, Red Oak CSD Administrative Center Red Oak Technology Center, Red Oak High School Campus January 5, 2015

This special meeting of the Board of Directors of the Red Oak Community School District was called to order by President Lee Fellers at 8:00 p.m.

Present:

Directors: Lee Fellers, Kathy Walker, Warren Hayes, Paul Griffen, Bill Drey Terry Schmidt, Superintendent and Shirley Maxwell, Board Secretary

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Director Drey, second by Director Walker to approve the agenda as presented. Superintendent Schmidt asked to amend the motion to include Iowa Assessment documents that were presented at the table. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

Motion by Director Drey, second by Director Griffen to move into closed session at 8:02 p.m. per Iowa Code 21.5(1)I to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to the individual's reputation, and that individual requests a closed session. Roll call vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously. The Directors came out of closed session at 8:33 p.m.

Teacher Resignation

Motion by Director Walker, second by Director Drey to approve the resignation agreement with Michael Berthusen from his teaching duties effective immediately. Motion carried unanimously.

Personnel and Staffing Discussion Regarding Interim Administrative Positions

Superintendent Schmidt reviewed with the Directors the interim high school principal and assistant principal/director of activities positions. The Directors recognized Interim High School Principal Jeff Spotts and Assistant Principal/Director of Activities Barry Bower for their continued leadership efforts at the high school. A plan of action needs to take place to move forward with both positions from an interim to a permanent status. No formal action was taken by the Directors.

Adjournment

Motion by Director Drey, second by Director Walker to adjourn the meeting at 9:03 p.m. Motion carried unanimously. The next regular meeting will be held on Monday, January 12, 2015 at 6:00 p.m. in the Sue Wagaman Board Room, Administrative Center in the Technology Building. Motion carried unanimously.

Lee Fellers, President